Who We Are

Originally established in 1984 by the Breckenridge Ski Corporation, The Summit Foundation is dedicated to improving the quality of life for residents and guests of Summit County and Neighboring Communities.

With the continuing support of Breckenridge Ski Resort and the added support of Arapahoe Basin, Copper Mountain, Keystone, and Vail Resorts, The Summit Foundation has been provided the opportunity to generate significant revenues to return to community organizations.  The cornerstone of The Foundation’s fundraising efforts is a transferable ski pass.  This Patron Pass Program, as well as partnerships with individuals and businesses throughout the Summit County community in contributing funds for The Foundation, provides The Summit Foundation the opportunity to generate significant revenues to return to community organizations.

The Foundation also raises monies through a variety of special events and projects each year, encompassing golf, showcasing new homes, and even embracing the wet, wild and wacky – an annual Rubber Duck Race.

Twice each year, The Foundation provides grants to organizations in Summit County and neighboring communities that provide programs or services in the areas of art and culture, education, environment, health and human service, and sports.  In addition, an annual scholarship program provides funding to local high school graduates to pursue post-secondary education.

Since 1986, The Foundation has awarded more than $23.5 million in grants and scholarships.

Current Foundation staff members include Jeanne Bistranin, Executive Director; Kasey Provorse, Director of Development; Megan Nuttelman, Program Officer; Elisabeth Lawrence, Events and Marketing Coordinator; and Terri Johnson, Database and Accounting Administrator.

The Foundation’s office is located at 103 S. Harris Street, Suites 201 and 204 in Breckenridge, Colorado. We can be reached at P.O. Box 4000, Breckenridge, Colorado 80424, (970) 453-5970, fax (970) 453-1423, email: [email protected]

annual grants and scholarships distributed
2015 distributions by area of funding